E-Learning

From Help
Jump to: navigation, search

ETSI Portaltext


PLEASE DO NOT DELETE THE BELOW TEXT (marie-laure)

Contents

Work Plan Hierarchical View Application - Frequently Asked Questions

What is a Coordinating Editor in a Work Plan?

The coordinating editor is the person that can act on the nodes and its descending nodes he has been assigned by an Author or an Owner.


What is an Author in a Work Plan?

The author is the person that can act on the nodes and its descending nodes he has been assigned by an Owner. He may also change the WP attributes (except for the tree depth).


What is an Owner in a Work Plan?

The owner can manage the authors and CEs and perform all actions on the WP, including the deletion of the WP (flag as hidden). By default, the owner is the person creating the WP.


What is the difference between an administrator and an owner?

An administrator is an ETSI staff member and has the higher set of rights. An Owner is by default the person creating the Work Plan. (Note: ETSI TB support staff can initiate the creation of a WP and may pass Owner rights to the TB Chairman for example.)


Why is the target date of a Work Item in red in a Work Plan?

This means the "target date" of the milestone has not been achieved yet, the Work Item is late.


Why is the node or sub-node name is red in a Work Plan?

This means the "Wished end date" entered for this node or sub-node is prior to the "Calculated end date" of this node or sub-node. Please update one of those dates and click on the "Save" button.


Why is there is little padlock icon in the Visibility status of a Work Plan (full view mode)?

The padlock icon means the Work Plan is locked for editing . Mouse over the icon to see the name of the person who locked the WP, and therefore can unlock it for you to work on the WP.


What does it mean when a Work Plan is locked? unlocked?

To avoid updates on the WP at the same time, the WP is either is a "locked" (locked by one user to update) or "unlocked" mode (possible to update by authorized users). A CE, Author or Owner would lock the WP while working on it. When done, please remember to "unlock" the WP for other authorized users you may need to update it. A Work Plan must be locked in order to be updated by a CE or Author or Owner.


Who can unlock a WP? How to unlock a Work Plan?

The user who locked the WP will be able to unlock it. The last person updating the WP should unlock it so other authorized users may edit and update.


How to erase a Work Plan?

The owner of a Work Plan can erase it by clicking on the X icon on the top right corner of the WP.


How can I retrieve an erased Work Plan?

Once erased by an owner, a Work Plan can only be retrieved Administrators.


How can I hide a WP from the public (for authors/owners)?

As owner or author, you can set the visibility of your Work Plan to "Restricted" or "Private". This allows you to work on the WP without its content being accessible to the public. See: for more information on visibility. See


What are the different Visibility status for a Work Plan?

Note: Work Plans details (WP name, owner name, visibility, TB and description) are visible at all times in the WPHV portlet. The three levels of visibility here below apply to open a WP actual content.

  • "Public": the Work Plan is visible to anyone (even non logged users).
  • "Restricted": the Work Plan is visible to the owner, authors and editors only.
  • "Private": the Work Plan is visible to owner only.


What is a Gantt chart?

A Gantt chart is a type of bar chart that illustrates a project schedule. Gantt charts illustrate the start and finish dates of the terminal elements and summary elements of a project.


Can a Work Item appear more than once is a Work Plan?

A Work Item can be appear only once in a Work Plan.


How do I search for a Work Plan, withtout any particular Technical Body defined?

In the search window, select the blank entry in at the top of the Related TB list. This will retrieve all the Work Plans in all TBs, including those without Technical Body defined.



Remote Consensus Application - Frequently Asked Questions

How do I quicly access the comments of a contribution under Remote Consensus?

Click on the RC name on the portal. You will see the list of contribution(s) under RC. Click then on the hammer icon.


How can I post a comment?

Once in the contribution's Remote Consensus tab, click on "Comment" and enter your comments.


Can I upload a file containing my comments?

Comments/oppositions cannot be submitted by uploading a file. They must be entered in the box provided in the Remote Consensus tab.


Can I add multiple contributions at once to one RC?

Yes, hold the key CTRL and select all the contributions. Then click on "Add".


What are these hammer icons in the contribution application?

These icon identifies contributions that are under Remote Consensus and their status.

Here are the different icons:

Hammer arrow icon.PNG: Contribution(s) under an ongoing Remote Consensus.

Hammer only icon.PNG: Remote Consensus has ended and results have been ratified or reviewed.

Hammer cross icon.PNG: Contribution(s) under Remote Consensus has been removed/aborded.


Why are some icons greyed out in the RC portlet

These greyed out icons (Grey icons.PNG) mean that you are not logged in the portal. You cannot open the Remote Consensus nor post your comment. To fully benefit the portal tools, please remember to log in on the top right corner of the portal.


Can I add contributions from other TBs or WGs in my RC?

You may only add contributions that are from your TB or WG(s). You may not mix contributions from the parent TB and the WG(s). There should be one Remote Consensus for each TB or WG.


Who can create a RC?

TB/WG Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Secretary and TB support staff can create a Remote Consensus. Note: A TB Chairman may create a RC for its WGs also. A WG Chairman may not create a RC for the parent TB.


How do I monitor comments on a contrib under RC?

You can monitor the contribution(s) that are under RC. Click on "Monitor" in the Remote Consensus tab of the contribution.

You will receive a report by email, each time a comment is posted or an opposition is raised. You may un-subscribe at any time following the same procedure.


Why is a contribution labelled as "no show" in a remote consensus?

A contribution will be noted as "no-show" if it has not been made available before the start of the Remote Consensus.


Can a Remote Consensus be stopped after it started?

A Remote Consensus cannot be stopped after it has started. However, contributions can still be removed after RC started; this action can be done by the TB/WG Chairman, Vice-Chairman,, Secretary or TB Support staff.


Can I subscribe to a RC report?

By default, the TB/WG members will get notified of the main events of the RC (start, end, ratify) via the exploder list. Weekly report???automatic???


Can I oppose more than once to a contribution's approval?

You may oppose to a contribution's approval, clear your opposition and oppose again later on with maybe different motives. However, you may not oppose more than once in row; you will have to clear your opposition first (with justification) in order to oppose again.


I changed my mind, can I remove my opposition?

You may clear your opposition in the RC by clicking on "Clear my opposition". Please note that you cannot remove completely your opposition, it will appear in the comments/oppositions history that you opposed/cleared your opposition.


Is there a mininum duration for a Remote Consensus?

The duration of the Remote Consensus is at the TB/WG Chairman's discretion and in regards to the Technical Body needs. There are however certain duration to respect depending on the RC content (For example: 30 days for a Draft approval; days for a meeting report; etc.)


How long does a "CLOSED" RC stays in the recent list, on the portal?

A Remote Consensus that has ended and has been ratified/reviewed is flagged "ClOSED" in the RC portlet. This RC stays in the list for..... days.