Work Plan Hierarchical View Application - Frequently Asked Questions
What is a Coordinating Editor in a Work Plan?
The coordinating editor is the person that can act on the nodes and its descending nodes he has been assigned by an Author or an Owner.
What is an Author in a Work Plan?
The author is the person that can act on the nodes and its descending nodes he has been assigned by an Owner. He may also change the WP attributes (except for the tree depth).
What is an Owner in a Work Plan?
The owner can manage the authors and CEs and perform all actions on the WP, including the deletion of the WP (flag as hidden). By default, the owner is the person creating the WP.
What is the difference between an administrator and an owner?
An administrator is an ETSI staff member and has the higher set of rights. An Owner is by default the person creating the Work Plan. (Note: ETSI TB support staff can initiate the creation of a WP and may pass Owner rights to the TB Chairman for example.)
Why is the target date of a Work Item in red in a Work Plan?
This means the "target date" of the milestone has not been achieved yet, the Work Item is late.
Why is the node or sub-node name is red in a Work Plan?
This means the "Wished end date" entered for this node or sub-node is prior to the "Calculated end date" of this node or sub-node. Please update one of those dates and click on the "Save" button.
Why is there is little padlock icon in the Visibility status of a Work Plan (full view mode)?
The padlock icon means the Work Plan is locked for editing . Mouse over the icon to see the name of the person who locked the WP, and therefore can unlock it for you to work on the WP.
What does it mean when a Work Plan is locked? unlocked?
To avoid updates on the WP at the same time, the WP is either is a "locked" (locked by one user to update) or "unlocked" mode (possible to update by authorized users). A CE, Author or Owner would lock the WP while working on it. When done, please remember to "unlock" the WP for other authorized users you may need to update it. A Work Plan must be locked in order to be updated by a CE or Author or Owner.
Who can unlock a WP? How to unlock a Work Plan?
The user who locked the WP will be able to unlock it. The last person updating the WP should unlock it so other authorized users may edit and update.
How to erase a Work Plan?
The owner of a Work Plan can erase it by clicking on the X icon on the top right corner of the WP.
How can I retrieve an erased Work Plan?
Once erased by an owner, a Work Plan can only be retrieved Administrators.
As owner or author, you can set the visibility of your Work Plan to "Restricted" or "Private". This allows you to work on the WP without its content being accessible to the public. See: for more information on visibility. See
What are the different Visibility status for a Work Plan?
Note: Work Plans details (WP name, owner name, visibility, TB and description) are visible at all times in the WPHV portlet. The three levels of visibility here below apply to open a WP actual content.
- "Public": the Work Plan is visible to anyone (even non logged users).
- "Restricted": the Work Plan is visible to the owner, authors and editors only.
- "Private": the Work Plan is visible to owner only.
What is a Gantt chart?
A Gantt chart is a type of bar chart that illustrates a project schedule. Gantt charts illustrate the start and finish dates of the terminal elements and summary elements of a project.
Can a Work Item appear more than once is a Work Plan?
A Work Item can be appear only once in a Work Plan.
How do I search for a Work Plan, withtout any particular Technical Body defined?
In the search window, select the blank entry in at the top of the Related TB list. This will retrieve all the Work Plans in all TBs, including those without Technical Body defined.